I only love running when it’s over.

Ok not really. But that is almost true!

I think it takes me a realllllly long time to fully warm up. When I run weekday mornings, I usually only run for 30ish minutes (after walking to warmup for 3.5 mins… why .5? Not really sure.) I feel the best at the END. Maybe because it’s almost over? I’m not sure.

My longest run to date is 7.2 miles (the .2 counts). I felt awesome at the end. I do out and back routes (obviously so I can end up at home), and during the first half these are some thoughts I tend to have:

-Ugh, do I really have to do this for another whole HOUR?

-My legs feel heavy.

-This is kind of boring.

-Am I so slow I’m going backwards?!

Google!

But then once I hit my turnaround point, I feel soooo much better. That’s when I get my “runner’s high”. I think this also may be why 5Ks are hard for me. The Shamrock 5k was my speediest but I felt kind of crappy the whole time. It must just take me forever to really hit my stride and find my rhythm. Does anyone else feel this way too?

The point of all this is… it makes it kind of tough to go running all the time. I dread that first 20 or 30 minutes. I feel GREAT after, so I do it, but it’s hard for me to get motivated to get going. I definitely force it. I fake like I am excited to go to other people in hopes that one day, I’ll truly be excited. Don’t get me wrong, I love running… but mostly at the end of it!

Oh and I love races. I may feel crappy during the whole thing but man does it feel good to finish! Let’s take a look at my upcoming races:

-Women’s 5K by the Bay – April 10th

-NCR Trail Half Marathon Relay (7.5 mi leg) – May 7th (sidebar: I am excited to do this one because I’ve never run a race with a medal before! I want a damn medal!)

-Survivor Harbor 7 miler – June 12th

-Baltimore Ten Miler – June 18th (AM I CRAZY!?)

Leave a comment

Filed under Running

Leave a Reply

