WAKE UP!!

So there is a ton of debate on the advantages of working out first thing in the morning. Supposedly since you have not yet eaten anything that day, your body turns to your fat stores for energy. I’m not sure if I buy that…. but it really can’t hurt.

I have to force myself out of bed every. single. morning I get up earlier to work out. The absolute worst part is that I don’t even have to get up THAT early to fit it in – 6 am will get me a good hour at the gym. I actually sleep in my gym clothes, too. That way I can roll out of bed, put my shoes on (I even put them in the bathroom the night before), and go. Pathetic, isn’t it?

I mean seriously - who doesn't love doing this?

I am actually worried because I start a new job on April 18th, and I won’t have the luxury of walking 5 minutes to work anymore. So that means *gasp* I have to get up early just to get to work on time!!!!! I am actually debating whether or not I will switch my workouts to evenings again because I’ll be getting off of work much earlier. But then I can’t decide because I realllllly like having my evenings free. But anyway, I digress.

So this is the list I recite in my head over and over to get my butt of bed at the crack of dawn:

1. I start drinking water much earlier. Like, 2 hours earlier. If I don’t go to the gym, I don’t drink anything until I get to work. This sounds bad, but it’s really because I am so lazy I don’t leave any extra time aside from getting ready.

2. My hair looks better when I shower and blow dry it. When I work out in the evenings, I shower afterward and just let my hair air dry. It’s a hit or miss on what it will look like the next day when I do that.

3. I come home and my evening schedule is CLEAR. It is so so so so nice to go throughout the day knowing that you already worked out and did something good for yourself. People say it gives them more energy, too… the jury is still out on this, but I’ll keep telling myself it does.

4. Things can’t come up and cancel your workout. Nobody is going to call you at 5 a.m. to see if you want to grab breakfast before work that day. Work can’t ask you to come in that early without advance notice.

5. This better simulates race days for me. Since most races at insanely early, your body is used to running in the morning. Personally, my runs are much different depending on the time of day.

6. Full House is on. ‘Nuff said.

7. In the summer time, running outside will be much more bearable. It’s still pitch black at 6 a.m. so I haven’t tested this out yet (plus it’s still freaking cold). But I like to tell myself I’ll be glad I did this in August.

This is all I can think of for now. I will add more if I think of them, because I really need as much motivation as I can get to drag my butt to the gym in the mornings. Afterward I am SO glad I did it, and always tell myself it’s so worth it. Weird – that is exactly like running.

Seriously, don't google "sleeping puppy". Hours of your life will be lost.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

