Melty cheesy goodness.

Just as I was about to leave work, someone mentioned that they saw a coupon on Facebook for FREE Outback. Um, I love Outback and I love free even more. After a quick investigation, however, we discovered the coupon was a hoax.

Unfortunately, the seed had been planted. I am obsessed with their salad (their ranch is awesomeeee), bread and cheese fries. Drool. Yes, I’m aware that there are about 1500 calories in the SMALL cheese fries appetizer. But considering my two favorite food groups are cheese and salt, these are right up my alley. I thought about getting carry-out the whole way home, but when I walked in the door I had a change of heart – I’d eaten so well today that I didn’t wanna ruin it, and if I really wanted it, I could get it for dinner tomorrow (a Friday, much more of an appropriate night.)

So I ate my dinner of a big salad and a piece of my homemade lasagna and realized I still wanted the melty cheesiness of the fries. So I took about 6 Tostitos chips and sprinkled some reduced fat shredded cheese on them, and popped them in the microwave. While that still doesn’t pack a whole lot of nutrition, it satisfied my craving with a lot less calories (and money).

I used to make these as a kid, and while they aren’t nearly as good as real nachos, they are pretty darn close. I also used to just melt cheese on top of club crackers. Can you tell I’ve always loved cheese and salt?!? Considering my top junk foods are probably cheese fries, mozzarella sticks, and macaroni and cheese, I think I’m noticing a trend here.

Come to mama. Heaven forbid I ever develop lactose intolerance.

Speaking of eats, here’s what I had today:

-Breakfast: 1/2 cup dry oatmeal with a spoonful of PB, hard boiled egg

-Lunch: Lean Cuisine – Chicken Carbonara, a pear, 2 Dunkin Donut holes

-Snack: Whole wheat hamburger bun with more PB

-Dinner: Big salad with pickles and light caesar dressing, homemade lasagna

-Snack: Microwave nachos

Not bad, not bad.

This morning’s workout was pretty kick ass, too. After warming up on the treadmill, I did sprint intervals. Please, take the word sprint with a grain of salt here considering my tortoise-like pace. Basically, I run at a fast pace for 1 min, recover for 2, repeat for 30 minutes. Then I followed with calf raises, lunges, squats, bicep curls, planks, straight leg raises, and donkey kicks. Phew, I think that was it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

